Saturday, 30 April 2011

Live review: ALL THE YOUNG - Darlington Seen/Inside Out 29th April 2011

Fuckin' he'll. Darlington missed a trick tonight!

ALL THE YOUNG, were in your area tonight. They came to your back garden and you were out the front.

Darlington's SEEN venue is the perfect place for any band on their way to world wide domination to call into and blow the minds of the casual clubber.

Tonight it was ALL THE YOUNG. Morrissey's new favourite band. Stoke-On-Trent's solution to the gaping hole in the indie Rock 'n Roll world. A band who are smashing their way through 2011 with a new determination and a confidence that grabs you by the shades and makes you sit up and take notice. Indie guitar rock 'n roll has been waiting for ALL THE YOUNG for longer than anyone had even realised, until they bust into you local and pissed on your jukebox.

Following on from a support slot with BROTHER, the lads are spending the summer performing low key headline shows and festival dates, so this is your opportunity to catch them close up before the album hits the streets and they take the world by storm.

The set tonight consisted of 6 songs from the forthcoming album which is due in January. The quality of the songs so far is superb. I could harp on with comparisons and start using words like anthemic and shit like that but the only thing I need to tell you about ALL THE YOUNG's songs is that they are here NOW they are performed with charisma and style and they ROCK like a monkey with mental problems.

You need this band in your life. They're gonna be in your life anyway so you may as well succumb now. Catch them live over the summer.



Another Miracle
Here To Stay
The First Time
Welcome Home

The single "The First Time" is available on iTunes now HERE
The band's web site is
Official Facebook:
Official YouTube profile:

There are also some live performances from the Middlesbrough gig at Uncle Albert's on my YouTube profile HERE.

More info on Darlington's SEEN / INSIDE OUT venues HERE

Friday, 22 April 2011

IPD Recommendation: The June - Green Fields and Rain. (Album)

As ever, my mate John Cuz put me on to this band.  They're called The June and their music is a complete psychedelic mix up of The Beatles, Kula Shaker, The Jam, The LAs, Oasis and many other more recent bands.  They have a very Beatles feel to them and yet they are definitely unique.  Every track has a very familiar sound to it but they also manage to make each song sound like a modern take on a song that didn't quite get written in the 60s or the 80s. Brilliant!

With all I've just written, you won't be surprised to hear that they hail from Parma, Italy.  (WTF?)

Doesn't matter where they come from.  This album is top quality.  It needs to be banging the windows out of your car this summer as you drive around in the sun.  Try the two free tracks below and you'll be hooked immediately.  Then you can preview every track using the iTunes link below the tracklist.

As ever, please let me know your thoughts or anything else I need to know.  And if you're The June, send me your new stuff.  I need it!


1. Feel The Sunshine [DOWNLOAD FREE]
2. Good News [DOWNLOAD FREE]
3. On Fire
4. This Song
5. I'm Looking Out
6. Satellites Like Butterflies
7. Love Is Gone
8. Let You Down
9. Smile
10. Waterfall In The Woods
11. Green Fields and Rain
12. Pete On The Street
13. Seas of Sand

iTunes Preview [HERE]

The album is on Rainbow Quartz Records, CATALOG NO: RQTZ170

Thursday, 21 April 2011

MORRISSEY has finally finished his autobiography (almost)

Morrissey has confirmed that he has finished writing his autobiography.

During an interview on BBC Radio 4's Front Row he said ;

"How far am I? Well, I've reached the re-drafting, trimming stage," and stated that he wants it published within the next year, although he doesn't yet have a confirmed publisher. 

He added "I just wonder if 660 pages are too much for people to bear. And then I sit down and think, well, are six pages too much for people to bear? I really don't know. I'm trimming."

Unfortunately he also stated that he has no plans for The Smiths to reform; 

"It won't happen. Nah. I don't think so. There's no reunion point. There really is no point at all that I can think of, and that's that."

Instead he just intends to "carry on like the old blues singers and die onstage in Chicago probably."

MickDude : I cannot wait for this book.  Shame about the reunion.  :-(  I still live in hope though.
More to follow about the interview after I've listened to it in bed tonight...

BROTHER session on Mike Joyce's Coalition Chart Show


BROTHER called into BluePrint Studios in Manchester recently to record a session for legendary drummer from The Smiths turned DJ, Mike Joyce.  They played three tracks; New Year's Day, Darling Buds Of May and High Street, Low Lives. The tracks are all taken from the band's upcoming debut album Famous First Words which is released on July 4th.  They also recorded a chat with Mike about what they've been up to in recent weeks.

Listen to the session HERE (Click "Listen" next to March 10th, 2011).  Also click HERE for the full show tracklist.

Mike's Coallition Chart Show goes out at 3PM (UK Time) every Thursday afternoon on East Village Radio. Check it out!!!

BROTHER release debut album details.

BROTHER today released the artwork for their much anticipated debut album "Famous First Words"

The album tracklist is as follows:-

1.) New Year’s Day
2.) Still Here
3.) David
4.) High Street Low Lives
5.) Electric Daydream
6.) Darling Buds of May
7.) Otherside
8.) Fly by Night
9.) False Alarm
10.) Time Machine

The album is released on July 4th (Indie Pen Dude day) and can be pre-ordered HERE.
The first 500 pre-orders will receive a signed copy.

The album was produced by Stephen Street at Angelic Studios in Northampton and mixed at Miloco in London.